Speaker

Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD, DPS

Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.), is president of The Institute for Safe Medication Practices, a non-profit healthcare organization that specializes in understanding the causes of medication errors and providing error-reduction strategies to the healthcare community, policy makers, and the public. Dr. Cohen is editor of the *Medication Errors* textbook and serves as co-editor of the *ISMP Medication Safety Alert!* publications that reach over 2 million health professionals and consumers in the US, as well as regulatory authorities and others in over 30 foreign countries. He is editor for the ISMP consumer website and writes a weekly guest column that appears in the *Philadelphia Inquirer*. Dr. Cohen currently serves as vice chair of the Patient Safety Advisory Group for the Joint Commission. He also served recently as a member of the National Quality Forum's Safe Practices Maintenance Steering Committee and serves as a consultant to the Food and Drug Administration. In 2005, Dr. Cohen was recognized as a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Panelists

Steven Meisel, PharmD

Steven Meisel, PharmD, is the director of patient safety for Fairview Health Services, an integrated health system based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Dr. Meisel is responsible for all aspects of patient safety improvement, as well as related measurement, reporting, educational, and cultural initiatives. He also has served as faculty for the Institute for Healthcare Improvement safety since 1997.

Before his affiliation with Fairview, Dr. Meisel was clinical pharmacy coordinator at St. Joseph's Hospital in St. Paul and chief of pharmacy at Keams Canyon Indian Hospital in Arizona. He is a member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Minnesota Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety, and the Rho Chi Society.

In 2000, Dr. Meisel was named one of the state's top 100 most influential healthcare leaders by *Minnesota Physician*. He was the winner of the 2000 Innovative Solutions Award by the National Patient Safety Foundation, the 2002 Best Practices Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the 2002 Cheers Award from the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. In 2003, the Minnesota Society of Health-System Pharmacists named him the Pharmacist of the Year. Dr. Meisel also was a finalist for the 2004 Excellence in Medication Use Safety Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He was the winner of the University Health-System Consortium Excellence in Quality and Safety Award. He has authored or co-authored 36 publications.

Dr. Meisel received his doctor of pharmacy degree and his bachelor's degree in pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science.

David W. Bates, MD, MSc, is the chief quality officer, senior vice president, and chief of the general internal medicine division at Brigham and Women's Hospital. Dr. Bates is also the medical director of clinical and quality analysis at Partners Healthcare. He is an internationally renowned expert in patient safety for using information technology to improve care, quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcomes assessment in medical practice. He is a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and a professor of health policy and management at the Harvard School of Public Health, where he co-directs the clinical effectiveness program.

Dr. Bates directs the Center for Patient Safety Research and Practice at Brigham and Women's Hospital, and serves as external program lead for research in the World Health Organization's Global Alliance for Patient Safety. He is also the associate editor of the *Journal of Patient Safety*. He has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, and the American College of Medical Informatics, and was chairman of the Board of the American Medical Informatics Association. Dr. Bates has over 600 peer-reviewed publications.

Robert S. Galvin, MD

Robert Galvin is the chief executive officer of Equity Healthcare (EH), an organization that oversees the management of healthcare for firms owned by private equity companies. EH focuses on using purchasing power to create innovative ways to achieve higher value healthcare, through improved population health, clinical quality, and delivery system reforms.

Before joining Blackstone, Dr. Galvin was executive director of health services and chief medical officer for General Electric (GE) for 15 years, where he was in charge of the design, financial, and clinical performance of GE's health programs. He was also responsible for health policy strategies affecting employees. Dr. Galvin is a nationally recognized leader in the areas of market-based health policy and financing, quality measurement, and payment reform. His work has been widely published in the *New England Journal of Medicine* and *Health Affairs*. Dr. Galvin was a co-founder of the Leapfrog Group and founder of Bridges to Excellence and Catalyzing Payment Reform.

Dr. Galvin is a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) and sits on the IOM's Board on Health Care Services. He is also on the Board of Directors of the National Quality Forum and a member of the National Advisory Council for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Dr. Galvin is professor adjunct of medicine and health policy at Yale. His work has received awards from the National Business Group on Health, the Healthcare Financial Management Association, and the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship. He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians.

Moderator

Bernard M. Rosof, MD, MACP

Dr. Bernard Rosof is at the forefront of national initiatives in the areas of quality and performance improvement. He is the Chair of the Board of Directors of Huntington Hospital (North Shore-LIJ Health System) and a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of the Health System. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the National Quality Forum, and the Co-Chair of the National Priorities Partnership convened by the NQF to set national priorities and goals to transform America's healthcare. Dr. Rosof is the Chair of the NPP's Committee on Overuse. Dr. Rosof is the Chair of the Physician Consortium for Performance Improvement convened by the AMA that continues to lead efforts in developing, testing and implementing evidence-based performance measures for use at the point of care. He is also a member of the Clinical Performance Measurement Committee of the NCQA. Dr. Rosof is the Chair of the Physician Advisory Committee for United Health Group.

Dr. Rosof is CEO of Quality HealthCare Consultants (QHC) that provides strategic advisory services to the community of health care providers interested in improving the quality and safety of health care delivery in our nation.

Dr. Rosof is Professor in the Department of Medicine at the Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine in New York. He is a Master of the American College of Physicians and Chair Emeritus of the Board of Regents of the American College of Physicians. Dr. Rosof is the recipient of the Laureate Award from the American College of Physicians and the Theodore Roosevelt Award for Distinguished Community Service. He has also received the 2011 Founders Award presented by the American College of Medical Quality in recognition of his long-standing national leadership and exceptional ability to foster and support healthcare quality improvement.